In Character

o-MOUTH-TALKING-facebookIsaiah 53:7 He was oppressed and afflicted, yet he did not open his mouth; he was led like a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before its shearers is silent, so he did not open his mouth.

Luke 23:34a Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”..

 

She smiled the moment she woke, unaware that this was out of character for 5 month old babies, Lian just laid there on the bed stretching alone waiting for her mother to see her wake up that morning. Her mother, my sister Jeng was downstairs in our apartment tending to her other child, Qian. Was this really out of character for her or was this just her personality? I’ve been told once that people can’t help but be themselves sometimes and that it’s just their personality to be rude, complaining and bossy.

The day I started this article, I’ve ranted and did something out of character. I spoke ill of another human being and cursed them in my heart.

Like it or not our objective in this life is to be Christlike – it is His character that we need to become. It is His “personality” of humility, meekness and patience that we need to take in.

I’ve failed today to be meek, humble and patient in an area of my life that should have been entrusted more to God. I said “I will run with the mouth today to defend myself.” And yet Christ in all His righteousness was “oppressed and afflicted, yet He did not open His mouth…”

Me running with the mouth today wasn’t what God would have done had He been in my situation – let alone cursing someone to die no matter how irritating their actions towards me were.

Daughter of the King, let us act not like the world or excuse our characters for running with the mouth to curse with our hearts or even gossip about them but be as much as possible be Christlike enough to say with our hearts every time someone does us wrong, “Father, forgive them for they do not know what they are doing.”

Leave a Reply

