Come Home to The Father

Father Daughter Reunion.jpg“I will rise up again and go back to my Father’s house where I know I will be taken care of… even as a slave in His household.”

From the beginning of the Song Undo, until the end of the first verse, it talked about prodigals… yet in all its truth, this phrase was truer to my present situation: “To label me a prodigal would be only scratching the surface of who I’ve been known to be…”

 

Recently, I have found myself in the sty, in the oozing mud of all that was impure. Going back to the other post that I had before the last one, I’ve been thinking… this isn’t the life I ought to live. I should be living in the purity and holiness and in Christlikeness not in this unholy lifestyle that I found myself in. “God, I surrender all control to You, this battle is yours. And I rely in your faithfulness to fight this battle.”

All who had the misfortune of battling an addiction will tell you that it’s a constant war that you should battle and win little by little with – one step at a time – not a one time big thing that magically disappears in an instant when you make the decision not to live in it anymore. Yet, some will ask, “Will not the hand of God help you get out of it.” His hands will but it takes a willing heart of surrender to trust where He’s leading and a struggle between your flesh and His Spirit – to which you yield to every moment and every second of your waking and even sleeping hours – is the decision you have to purposely make everyday. So what will encourage an already hooked heart to choose what is good, perfect and pleasing?

Think about it this way… in our Father’s house there is more love, there is more compassion and there is more kindness. In our Father’s house is a better inheritance than all that the fleeting pleasure of the flesh will cause us to inherit by default. Think about it in another way, will you choose the sty – where it’s smelly, unhealthy and where you could starve yourself to death or your Father’s house – where you get cleansed & clothed everyday, where you will be taken care of & given an inheritance and where there are feasts waiting for you?

Choose your Father’s house, I implore you, daughters of the King – come home to Him.

Luke 15 (NIV)

11 Jesus continued: “There was a man who had two sons. 12 The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them.

13 “Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living. 14 After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. 15 So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. 16 He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.

17 “When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired servants have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! 18 I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. 19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.’ 20 So he got up and went to his father.

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him….”

 

Leave a Reply

