You Were Never Abandoned

He stood on his little chair thinking of a way to get down on his own. Santi was a 2 and half year old toddler back then, who never spoke much but his parents were rooting for him to get down on the floor on his own. “No, don’t help him get down. I taught him how to get down on his own,” said my beaming younger sister – who lingered nearby watching his every move but was unwilling in a way to “spoonfeed” him in practical living or fulfilling Santi’s little life purpose at that time.

Isaiah 50:7 Because the Sovereign Lord helps me I will not be disgraced. Therefore have I set my face like flint. I know I will not be put to shame.

crossWhen Jesus was being tried, He never opened his mouth in His defense. When He was being abused, flogged, tortured, jeered at, laughed at, doubted and was being murdered in an open crowd – He never once doubted that his death would bring Him disgrace or shame in the end – this is why He set His face like flint – making it hard to break His spirit. Yet never for a moment do I believe that the Father ever looked away from His Son as He was being who He was sent to be on this earth – the sacrificial lamb. I believe just like my little sister was looking at Santi’s every move, the Father saw everything and was looking closely at everything that Jesus was going through when He endured the cross.

Like Jesus, crying out “Father, Father why have you abandoned me?!!?” I believe we sometimes cry out to God out of desperation and disillusionment that we have been abandoned when we never were – especially when we are doing God’s will on earth. And yet He Himself spoke to us before… “never will I leave you, never will I forsake you…” I believe He is out there being a Father to us – beaming at us, rooting for us to succeed in our every move to do His will on earth.

Daughter of the King, whenever your heart is so discouraged that you feel that the Heavenly Father abandoned you, please know that He is always with you – rooting for you, knowing He taught you well how to do His will on earth. All you need to do is trust His Heavenly heart and leap in faith despite feeling alone because the truth is He never leaves you to be alone and helpless.

Leave a Reply

